Pages

Thursday, 5 September 2013

Seven Foods that contain Casein Protein

Food Product

Casein is a name given to a family of phospho proteins that are found mainly in milk of mammals and make up about 80 percent of the protein present in cow’s milk. Casein protein is said to be responsible for most allergies caused by drinking milk or milk products because it is an important protein present in milk. For those suffering from allergy after consumption of certain food products because of the presence of casein protein in it, things have now become easier to tell which product has the protein and which doesn’t. It has been possible because of the more transparent labeling that each commercial product manufacturer is obliged to expose to the consumer.

Some of the foods that have casein protein include the following seven.

Dairy products

Dairy products
Dairy foods are the ones that have casein protein in large percentage compared with other products that have the protein in them. Some of the dairy products include cottage cheese, cheese, milk and yogurt. When compared with lactose intolerance, casein intolerance or allergy is reported to be experienced by fewer people.
Meats

Meats
It is well-known that casein is added to lunch meat, hot dogs, sausages, etc. Casein is also said to be present in several brands of chicken broth, canned tuna, and fresh poultry. In the case of the latter, certain solutions may be infused into the product to help it remain fresh for longer. Do not be carried away at “all natural” label on the food products as even such products will have at least 5 per cent of other additives.

Processed Foods
Processed Foods
Processed foods are often found to have casein in them. Such products will always be labeled with any word starting with lact. When checking out the label of a product, make sure you check for words like galactose, caramel coloring, protein, natural flavors, tagatose, Recaladent, milk, Naturlose, yogurt, butter and cheese. It has been found that the vinegar flavoring that is found in potato chips also has casein in it. Besides, most manufacturing units produce more than one food product in a particular equipment and this can lead to cross-contamination when the a product is made on an equipment that has already been used to make another product, especially a milk product or a product that contains milk ingredients.

Baked Goods

Baked Goods
Baked foods whether eaten at a restaurant or bought from a fast-food joint contain casein and must not be consumed if you are allergic to the protein.

Fast Food

Fast Food
Fast foods often have casein in them and are found in almost unimaginable places such as McDonald’s French fries are said to contain ingredients derived out of milk. Besides, the fries also contain gluten in them.

Non-fairy Products
Non-fairy Products
With the theme of casein almost settled around dairy products, it almost seems all right to consume non-dairy products and to think of them to not have casein in them. But in reality, certain non-dairy products may also have casein in them. These include non-dairy whipped toppings, which is said to include soy cheese, an alternative of dairy cheese. Make sure that you watch out for margarine and artificial flavor of butter.

Medicines
Medicines

Certain chemical compounds that are utilized for tooth re-mineralization are said to contain casein in them. Besides, a lot of protein supplements contain casein in them. Casein ensures the sustained and slow release of amino acids into the body to make sure that the body is able to use nitrogen in a better and optimum way. Casein gets digested slowly and therefore, consuming it between the meals or before going to bed helps to keep the anabolic state balanced.

No comments:

Post a Comment